# **Updated: January 2023**

# **HISTORY OF THE INTERNATIONAL SOCIETY OF HETEROCYCLIC CHEMISTRY**

1968 ISHC founded by Raymond Castle, Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

### **ISHC Presidents:**

- 1973-75, Raymond Castle (founder), Albuquerque, USA
- 1976-77, Edward Elslager, Warner-Lambert Parke-Davis Pharmaceuticals, USA
- 1978-79, Miha Tisler, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia
- 1980-81, Leroy Townsend, University of Michigan, USA
- 1982-83, Wolfgang Pfleiderer, University of Konstanz, Germany
- 1984-85, Stewart Schneller, University of South Florida, USA
- 1986-87, Henk van der Plas, University of Wageningen, Netherlands
- 1988-89, Yoshio Ban, Hokkaido University, Japan
- 1990-91, Victor Snieckus, University of Waterloo, Canada
- 1992-93, Jan Bergman, The Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden
- 1994-95, Albert Padwa, Emory University, USA
- 1996-97, Hal Moore, UC Irvine, USA
- 1998-99, Christopher Moody, University of Exeter, UK
- 2000-01, Yoshi Yamamoto, Tohoku University, Japan
- 2002-03, Steven Weinreb, Penn State, USA
- 2004-05, \*Marco Ciufolini, University of British Columbia, Canada
- 2006-07, Margaret Brimble, University of Auckland, NZ
- 2008-09, Jeffrey Aubé, Kansas University, USA
- 2010-11, Richard Taylor, University of York, UK
- 2012-13, Dawei Ma, Shanghai Institute of Organic Chemistry, China
- 2014-15, Daniel Comins, NCSU, Raleigh NC, USA
- 2016-17, Oliver Reiser, University of Regensburg, Germany
- 2018-19, Masayuki Inoue, The University of Tokyo, Japan
- 2020-22, Christopher Vanderwal, UC Irvine, USA

2023-24, Teresa Pinho e Melo, University of Coimbra and Artur Silva,

University of Aveiro, Portugal

\*Note: 2003, Alessandro Dondoni, University of Ferrara, Italy, was elected President –Elect but could not serve his term as President due to health problems.

**ISHC Secretaries:** 

1973-1979 M. Malm
1980-1981 G. Cheeseman
1982-1989 Thomas Kappe
1990-2004 Hans Neunhoeffer
2005-2009 Johannes Froelich
2012-2015 Michael Kerr
2016-2022 David Williams

#### **ISHC Treasurers:**

1973-1977	Leroy Townsend
1977-1979	Kevin Potts
1980-1989	Ludwig Bauer
1990-2011	Stan Lang
2012-	Fred Luzzio

### **ISHC Publicity Chairs:**

1994-1995	Willem Verboom
1996-1999	David StC Black
2000-2001	Dennis Liotta
2002-2009	C. Oliver Kappe
2010-2017	Tom Pettus
2018-	R. Alan Aitken

#### **ISHC Senior Fellows:**

- 1995 Raymond Castle
- 1995 Alan Katritzky
- 1997 Thomas Kappe
- 2001 Henk van der Plas
- 2001 Charles W. Rees
- 2003 Albert Padwa
- 2005 Hans Neunhoeffer
- 2007 Victor Snieckus
- 2015 Margaret Brimble
- 2015 Yasuyuki Kita
- 2022 Daniel Comins

# **ISHC Congresses:**

- 1967 Albuquerque, NM, USA
- 1969 Montpellier, France
- 1971 Sendai, Japan
- 1973 Salt Lake City, UT, USA
- 1975 Ljubljana, Yugoslavia
- 1977 Tehran, Iran
- 1979 Tampa, FL, USA
- 1981 Graz, Austria
- 1983 Tokyo, Japan

- 1985 Waterloo, Ont, Canada 1987 Heidelberg, Germany 1989 Jerusalem, Israel 1991 Corvallis, OR, USA 1993 Antwerp, Belgium 1995 Taipei, Taiwan 1997 Bozeman, MT, USA 1999 Vienna, Austria 2001 Yokohama, Japan 2003 Fort Collins, CO, USA 2005 Palermo, Italy 2007 Sydney, Australia 2009 St. John's, Canada 2011 Glasgow, UK 2013 Shanghai, China 2015 Santa Barbara, CA, USA 2017 Regensburg, Germany 2019 Kyoto, Japan
- 2022 Santa Barbara, CA, USA

Progress in Heterocyclic Chemistry (PHC):

1989-1995 Vol 1-7, Editors: Hans Suschitzky and Eric Scriven
1996 Vol 8, Editors: Hans Suschitzky and Gordon Gribble
1997-2002 Vol 9-14, Editors: Gordon Gribble and Tom Gilchrist
2003-2021 Vol 15-33, Editors: Gordon Gribble and John Joule
2022- Vol 34, Editors: Gordon Gribble and R. Alan Aitken

Membership:

The beginning: 1980's:	100-150 members 250-500
1990's:	500 members (1990); Grew to 1000 (late 1990's)
2000; 833	
2001: 850	
2002: 750	
2003: 770	
2004: 670	
2005: 664	
2006: 584	
2007: 560	
2008: 700	
2010: >400	
2011: >400	
2014: 413	
2015: 488	
2016: 337	
2017: 380	

2018:	415
2019:	530
2023:	475

Vice-Presidents of the Society and Chairmen of the Congresses:

- 1967 Raymond Castle
- 1969 R. Jacquier and N. Cromwell
- 1971 Tetsuji Kametani
- 1973 Leroy Townsend
- 1975 Miha Tisler
- 1977 Iraj Lalezari
- 1979 Stewart Schneller
- 1981 Thomas Kappe
- 1983 Tetsuji Kametani and Yoshio Ban
- 1985 Victor Snieckus
- 1987 Richard Neidlein
- 1989 Alfred Hassner
- 1991 James D. White
- 1993 Frank Alderweireldt
- 1995 C. K. Sha
- 1997 Tom Livinghouse
- 1999- Fritz Sauter
- 2001- Masakatsu Shibasaki
- 2003- Robert M. Williams
- 2005- Girolamo Cirrincione
- 2007- David StC. Black and Roger Read
- 2009- Mohsen Daneshtalab
- 2011- Colin J. Suckling
- 2013- Biao Yu
- 2015- Tom Pettus
- 2017- Oliver Reiser
- 2019- Shuji Akai and Yasuyuki Kita
- 2022- Chris Vanderwal

More History:

TO: Professor Stan Lang (2001) FR: Professor Townsend

The first congress was held in Albuquerque in 1967 and the President of the Congress was Raymond Castle. There was no formal society (no constitution, by-laws, elected officers, etc.). All decisions were made by R. Castle with advice from the editorial board of the "Journal of Heterocyclic Chemistry" and supported by Miriam Malm as corresponding secretary. Of course, Raymond was the editor and owner of "The Journal." This arrangement was continued

for the first three congresses, e.g., I was selected at the editorial board meeting in Sendai during the third congress to host (be president of) the fourth congress in Salt Lake City. During my organization of the fourth congress, it was decided by R. Castle, E. Elslager, R. K. Robins and myself to complete the long overdue formalities involved in establishing the "International Society of Heterocyclic Chemistry". The "first society business meeting" was convened during a luncheon on the 10th of July 1973 at the fourth congress in Salt Lake City. The slate of proposed officers was introduced and nominations were solicited from the floor. The proposed slate of officers was accepted by unanimous acclamation and Raymond Castle became the "first" president of the ISHC on 10 July 1973; Edward Elslager the second; Miha Tisler the third; Leroy Townsend the fourth; etc.